Books!

Some I’ve read, some I haven’t yet gotten to, but either way, they all involve science in one way or another.I just finished Vonnegut’s Cat’s Cradle at an urging from a friend of mine. It’s about a guy who is researching the fictional inventor of the atom bomb for a book, gets tangled up with the late scientist’s crazy kids, ends up on an Island post-end of the world, etc., but there is an underlying theme of the power of science, and it’s funny as hell.Another book, which I just started, is by the late Carl Sagan, titled, The Varieties of Scientific Experience: A Personal View of the Search for God. It’s a collection of his lectures on science and religion from 1985. Sagan was known for his ability to live a life of faith and science without conflict, so I’m pretty curious as to what he has to say.I also started 112 Mercer Street: Einstein, Russell, Godel, Pauli, and the End of Innocence in Science, which let me down a little bit when I found out it’s not what I thought it was, but it’s still pretty good. I thought it was about the actual meetings between Einstein and a few of his genius friends at his Princeton home, but as it turns out, there is no actual record of the meetings, so the book is written like a four-way biography, hinting at what might have happened.Lastly, I bought famed geneticist, James Watson’s recent book, Avoid Boring People: Lessons from a Life in Science. Remember, that’s the book he was being interviewed about when he said those things that got him into so much trouble (see The Untouchables, below).

~ by jack, dude on December 6, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
